Ronit Baranga & Johnson Tsang

When I was on Pinterest, I found Ronit Baranga, a fine artist who I really feel embodies my grotesque aesthetic. I have sketched a couple of designs inspired by her artworks already, and I’m looking into more about the meaning and making of her works:

I love these pieces the most, perhaps because I have never seen anything like it. The way that she has added movement to what we usually see as still, the way it seems alive and how weird the aesthetic becomes with the very realistic, supernatural looking babies.

“The use of fingers and mouths in my work is full of intent and meaning. The fingers and the mouth are very sensual organs in the human body and are therefore very powerful as separated items from it. The ‘seamless’ combination of these organs in plates or cups, appearing as one, creates, in my opinion, new items that “feel” their environment and respond to it.” – Ronit

I found this response by her in an article:

http://www.cultofweird.com/art/ronit-baranga-sculpture/

Baranga has made me think a lot about fingers and mouths- how very true that they are extremely sensual. What if it could be placed on different parts of our body? Mouth shut on heads? Fingers on arms? The effect is still powerful like she says, and they are indeed “new items” that respond to their environment, just as a child would do.

I found another artist who is quite similar in using happy baby’s facial expressions and clay, Johnson Tsang.

This is his “open mind series”. He has a very positive mind and meaning to his pieces, as it is all about confronting difficult problems/ negativity with love, and an optimistic mind. An open mind. That is why a lot of his pieces use babies, because he wants to get in touch with his child like self again. Definitely much more different to the unsettling vibes of Baranga’s works.

But I think the head being stretched open like this can be a grotesque thing, imagine it being filled with something very graphic, or emerging from the open hole.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

