Hunterian Museum

The visit to the Hunterian Museum was successful, and I’ve produced a lot of primary research for the grotesque aesthetic.

IMG_5268

I discovered an overwhelming amount of things to draw, ranging from the deformation of bones, to the effects of elephantitis. So I made a quick decision to just select one part of the Museum, and that was the second floor, which had pathology, surgical videos and morbid anatomy. These were some of the jars I encountered:

These were the sketches I produced within the 3 hour visit:

IMG_0788IMG_0789IMG_0790IMG_0791IMG_0792IMG_0793

I’m really proud of my sketches, because I have improved in becoming a little more refined with my drawing, and this visit definitely helped with that because the organs were very intricate in folds and textures. Yet, I still maintained a freehand with the lively colours and confident lines, because I saw so much potential in developing these raw forms into a grotesque, textile design. I kept track of the time and made sure not to spend any longer than 20 minutes on a sketch, because the aim is to study the body part with my most immediate reaction of it, and spending too long drawing it loses this aproactive. I learnt this from drawing quickly in my personal journal in Parts 1&2, and comparing it to the longer, refined sketching in my sketchbook.

A few weeks ago, I was unsure of developing my project further due to the lack of primary research, and how I hadn’t discovered an aesthetic yet. Now, I have a rich amount of sources, and it’s exciting. I need to decide which body parts I want to focus on, internally (organs) or externally (skin etc). There are a few diseases I discovered that I’m curious to read more about, such as elephantitis, but I won’t be focusing on diseases. I want to just explore more on why we can perceive our body as grotesque, why some textures can be disgusting, and to combine it as a wearable piece to defend our personal space. It’s like using our body, to protect our body. Our body needs space. And interestingly, we can defend that space by using that same body in a gross way, pushing others away.

Now, I am going to figure out how I should present the sketches and photographs in my sketchbook.

Leave a Reply

