Finding a colour scheme

I tried to establish a colour scheme today after creating my moodboard. The moodboard definitely helped me visually, as at this early stage of FMP, it is good to have images up on my studio space to remind me of my grotesque aesthetic, and it should inspire me everyday.

IMG_0598
Acrylic paint swatches

I wanted to just create painted swatches of the colours I found from my research, and it was basically skin tones. In the beginning, it was just a bright pink but as I became more familiar with paint again, I created skin tones and discovered shades that resembled “bruised” skin.

IMG_0597

I think a bruised skin palette would be interesting to explore, because it adds to the grotesque aspect and it will give my samples and surfaces a more realistic feel, which is what I aim for. I will present this in my sketchbook.

Leave a Reply

