ReFashion Show

Today was an extremely exciting day- I got to exhibit my garment onto a proper catwalk show, with a live audience in the Oxford Town Hall.

IMG_5079

The venue had a large catwalk stage and stalls selling sustainable items surrounding it- like jewellery, pillow cases, blankets, clothes, shoes, coasters, bags etc. I really enjoyed looking around these stalls, as well as the show, and I especially love these buttons that were made from mother of pearl:

IMG_5084

Buttons are a great accessory to focus on for sustainability- and I will bear that in mind in the future, as there are endless materials you could use for it, such as film from a CD, soft fabric, plastic etc.

IMG_5081IMG_5083

I felt very proud to see my garment on show, I really liked how the ropes swayed and moved with the model as she walked. Although it isn’t dramatic in terms of silhouette, I think I captured the abstract quality of it very well, because it is a very conceptual piece after all, and I noticed that the speaker added how the outcomes are not always obvious and literal too. The white trousers and cropped top was a good idea, it ties the look together, and the black heels too. Perhaps for improvement, I will style the hair to be a little more dramatic or thematic, a more complex braiding. The final garment could only feel complete once it was on show to everyone.

IMG_5080

It was incredible to see all the garments in one professional place, and the strong comment on sustainable fashion, and how this is a step forward in the industry at present.

Leave a Reply

