Oxford Museums (Day 2)

I spent my afternoon at the Natural History Museum, and I had a closer study of the artefacts upstairs.

img_9418

This belonged to the “Evoloution of camouflage” section. As predators become more strong in exposing preys who camouflage, a greater refinement of camouflage eventually occurs. I was attracted to the crunchy textures and the rusty brown, Autumn colours. This was a piece that required viewers to spot as many bugs as they could, and it encouraged me to think about creating illusions within pattern design.

Glass plates

Left: Tie-Dye , Right: Shibori

I was mesmerised by these glass plates depicting the colours of the Arctic. The palette consists of three clean colours- white, indigo and light blue, and they are manipulated to form the most stunning shapes. The plates reminded me of shibori and tie dye techniques, and I love the way that the white spreads, it can be so unpredictable. The glossy surface also adds a special, polished quality to the pieces, perhaps to indicate how fragile the artic environment is.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These were textiles collages created in response to the polar bears and the northern lights. I like the layering of fabrics, and the colours used are very precise, as well as the shapes. The glittery fabric gives a literal element to the collages, the glow of the stars, the drizzle of the snow, or the reflection of the waters. But I personally find it difficult to use glittered fabric because I prefer creating a shine through glazes, or cling film to reflect light.

These are the artefacts I want to look into if I decide to design for the Natural History Museum. Tomorrow, I will spend the afternoon in Pitt Rivers, and decide which museum I prefer most.

Leave a Reply

