Research & Practice: Weaving

Weaving is a form (fabric or a fabric item) by interlacing long threads passing in one direction with others at a right angle to them. I started off with a simple, basic weave on a small cardboard loom made from following this tutorial:

This video was very useful in guiding me with a simple weave, and then moving onto creating more patterns and shape with the yarns, and alternating between colours to make the weave richer in design.

img_8165

I created this weave using Learn to weave, a book by Anne Field which had a lot of guidelines and instructions which I copied and stuck on my moodboard too. Then, I explored rya knots, which I felt completed the textile piece with a clean finish:

img_8171

Instead of yarn, I tackled the knots in an inventive way by using these soft strips of purple and white paper I found from Orinoco scrapyard. It was quite fiddly to tie with, but it just about worked and I love the rustling texture, and how it will encourage more interesting mark-making techniques with the bunched layers of paper strips, in contrast to straight yarn strings. The woven textile was made using these photographs:

I focused on the state in which the plants were decaying, and the last hints of vivid colour left before they are a dark brown/ purple. I also think the textures of the decayed plants are crispy, fragile and I feel like this is similar to using paper for rya knots, and the rustling that resembles stepping on crunchy dead leaves. I followed this lady in knotting:

Then, I focused on soumak weaving, as I liked the circular, bubbling effect you can get which I found on Pinterest:

http://pin.it/aN06eDw

Soumak weaving is easy, and it works best with thick wool or a very thick material as it is just an enlarged aspect of the woven textile. It is fun and experimental in playing around with the scale of yarns and materials, and it adds variation in the weave.

img_8200

I wished that I had more wool to weave with, but perhaps I will order more for use in the future as I’ve enjoyed weaving a lot, and I can definately see myself developing the technique further in Part 2. Tomorrow, I aim to finish one large textile woven piece, using all these techniques I learnt today.

Leave a Reply

